Phi Theta Kappa 2017 Induction Held at Garrett College

During a recent ceremony the Garrett College the Alpha Omicron Phi Chapter Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Honor Society welcomed 13 new members for the 2016-2017 academic year. The mission of this international organization is to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and to provide opportunities for individual growth and development through participation in honors, leadership, service, and fellowship programs.

To be eligible for membership in Phi Theta Kappa, a student must complete a minimum of twelve hours of associate degree course work and generally earn a grade point average of 3.5 or higher. Students must maintain a high academic standing throughout their enrollment in the two-year college, generally a 3.25 GPA. Part-time and full-time students are eligible for membership.

The ceremony opened with messages of welcome and congratulations to the inductees and their families and friends from Garrett College President Dr. Richard Midcap.

Elaine Marple, Chapter President outlined the history and meaning of Phi Theta Kappa, including the goals represented in the organization’s shield.

Established by Missouri two-year college presidents in 1918, Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society serves to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and provide opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership, and service programming.

Today, Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 1.3 million members and 1,100 chapters located in 50 United States, U.S. territories, Canada, Germany, and Japan. In 1929, the American Association of Community Colleges recognized Phi Theta Kappa as the official honor society for two-year colleges.

Dr. Qing Yuan, Dean of Academic Affairs, led the students in the saying the membership pledge and awarded the certificates of recognition with Dr. Jeff Reitz, Co-Chapter Advisor, presiding over the signing of the honor roster and the lighting of the flame of knowledge. A reception was held for the inductees and guests in the Art Gallery following the ceremony.

“I am so proud of these students, and I was pleased that several members of Garrett College’s faculty and staff chose to honor them by attending the ceremony,” said Dr. Jeff Reitz, Co-Chapter Advisor. “Terry and I are looking forward to working with our new members on a variety of leadership, service, and scholarship opportunities in the coming year.”

Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) honor society. In the front row, pictured from left to right are: Jocelyn Reckart, Autumn Miller, Angela Lowry, Amanda Broadwater, Kelsi Reed, Liu Repsys. Back row, are: Kalynn Eyler, Ashley Elliott, Kelsey Eichorn, Katie Carpenter, Rachel Warnick, Tyler Bowers, Christy Trembly.
LiveZilla Live Chat Software